Repeating Mistakes – The Light At The End Of The Tunnel

Sometimes in life,  we find ourselves repeating the same patterns or  ‘mistakes’ over and over again.  This can be frustrating and disappointing, especially if we are trying hard to break old habits or achieve goals.   However there is light at the end of the tunnel if you persist!

Here’s a great verse which I  read a long time ago.  It sums up the situation perfectly:

Life in 5 Chapters

  1. I walk down the street…

    there is a hole in the street.
    I fall into the hole… but I do not know I am in it.
    Finally I see the hole and try to get out.
    It takes a long time to get out of the hole.

  2. I walk down the same street..
    the hole is still there… I see the hole.
    I fall into the hole again…. but I recognize where I am,
    and I want to be out of the hole.
    It still takes a long time to get out of the hole.
  3. I walk down the same street…
    the hole is still there… I see the hole and
    still fall into the hole again… it has become familiar..
    But I have learned how to get out of the hole and..
    Get out of the hole much quicker.
  4. I walk down the same street…
    the hole is always going to be there in this street.
    I see the hole….. and recognize it.. and think fondly of it..
    but I think I don’t want to be in the hole again.
    But I walk directly toward the hole and fall in again.
    I get out immediately.
  5. I walk down the same street…
    the hole hasn’t moved… I like the look of the hole
    Yet I remember I don’t want to be in the hole…
    I remember the feelings in the hole.. I veer away…
    I walk around the hole and continue on my way.
    I go for a walk…. I walk down a different street.

— Author:  Unknown

Falling Into Holes

As you work on implementing your your goals, there will be times when you feel as though you keep falling into the same hole.   You will try to put new habits, actions and strategies into place.  But sometimes you will fall down into the same hole, as you make efforts towards changing.  As you struggle with your old ways of thinking, feeling and acting, you will experience frustration.

Frustration Fuels Your Awareness

As you struggle with frustration,  remember that this is all part of the journey; it is your friend.  Why?  Because, your frustration helps you to stay on track.  It fires up your emotions, heightening your awareness that something is going on.  You then start asking yourself  questions about how you got there – again!!

Frustration Fuels Your Focus

Frustration is a message for you to stop and check in with yourself:  what is not quite right here?  Where do I need to make some adjustments to keep me on track with my goals and intentions?

Frustration Fuels Action and Achievement

When you pay attention to the messages, your frustration can assist you to take action.  As you make adjustments in alignment with your goals, you will make progress.  Keep making progress, and eventually you will achieve your goals.

If you’re feeling frustrated or stuck in life, ask these questions:  What frustrates you in your life at the moment?  Where are the holes that you keep falling into?  What are your repeating patterns and ‘mistakes’?  What goals have you achieved?

Empower yourself today by taking at least one action which supports you in progressing your goals!

If you’d like some assistance in setting goals, assessing gaps or strengthening your capacity to achieve more of your goals, then I’d love to hear from you to see if we’re a match.  Take action today by booking a time to chat, or check out our services at theHealth Pursuit website.

This entry was posted in Goals, Transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

